Ealing Civic Society Annual Awards 2018

The 2018 awards were presented by Tim Dowling, the Guardian critic and columnist, at a ceremony at the Town Hall on 23 October. The short-listed entries were judged by local architects Harbinder Birdi, Anthony Ferguson and Gavin Leonard. They assessed the 8 shortlisted schemes against 4 criteria:

  • design
  • fitness for purpose
  • contribution to the landscape/townscape
  • other factors (energy efficiency, good pedestrian access, anti pollution measures and re-use of materials)

No scheme was considered exceptional so the 2018 Award was not presented but one scheme was highly commended and three were commended.

The Bluebell Centre
Highly commended

The Bluebell Centre, Perivale Wood, Sunley Gardens, Perivale UB6 7PE. Designed and constructed by volunteers from the Selborne Society.  The Centre is a low carbon building using the maximum number of sustainable locally sourced materials. It is a beautiful and low budget building used for courses, meetings and school visits to the surrounding Perivale Wood Local Nature Reserve. Highly commended.







St Benedict’s Junior School

St Benedict’s Junior School New Ark Building, Eaton Rise, W5 2ES. Designed by van Heyningen and Haward Architects. The New Ark building provides the Junior School with a nursery, 12 new classrooms and resource areas. The judges admired the use of textures, the wood interior, and the fact that it was built to Passivhaus standards and can be heated by just one domestic sized boiler. Commended.







St John’s School

St John’s Primary School, Green Man Gardens, W13 0SE. Designed by Conran and Partners for Ealing Council, and part of the ongoing regeneration of the Green Man Estate.  A 1970s school has been replaced by a larger new school building made from natural materials, and with a playing field on the roof. The judges admired the way the school looks out to its community and is much loved by its students. Commended.







1 Grange Park 

1 Grange Park, W5 3PL. Designed by Ania Lill of Lill Architects. A rear extension, described by the judges as “exquisite”, at the rear of an 1890s house. A large light filled kitchen, a courtyard and a green roof have been created. The judges appreciated the interesting choice of materials and the use of texture and ornament. Commended.







Other shortlisted entries this year were: St Bernard’s Gate, Uxbridge Rd UB2 4FU (Hester Architects), 24 Princes Gardens, W5 1SD (KSKa Architects), Haven Green Dental Clinic 1A Mount Park Rd, W5 2RP and the Ealing Heritage Street Name Signs Project .